3/28 – Counter-Eat: Colon Cancer 15K (NYRR Q#3)



Been slacking a bit on my counter eats, mainly due to a strained hamstring which I’m trying to nurse back to perfect health. Well, if you consider running 9.3 miles on a strained hamstring nursing it back to health, then yes. I never claimed I was brilliant. 🙂

Sunday morning arrived, and after a bottle of wine fun the night before and my hamstring ‘speaking’ to me every step I took, I was cursing myself for not signing up for the lovely 4 mile run which was an option. And a qualifier. Despite this fury annoyance, I decided to make the best of it. I had to be in Brooklyn RIGHT after the race to celebrate my Dad’s Birthday, so I had to prep a bag with a change of clothes etc. etc. Puppy was walked, apartment tidied up, peanut butter and toast was consumed (a little extra PB smear for good measure, of course) and I finally hopped on the train to 63rd and lex and made my way to the park. A family friend (who is like my ‘other’ mother) met me to pick up my bag and put it in her car since she was kind enough to offer me a ride to Brooklyn right after the race. I definitely didn’t want to give up my coat since I was FREEZING.

Finally made my way to the start, looking around hoping to spot a friendly face I knew, maybe someone to run with. No such luck. I felt like some running god was saying “You’re going this one alone, sweet cheeks”. Perfect. Bang, and I was off. I decided my ‘race strategy’ (which I have never employed before) would be to take this race mile by mile. And then percentage by percentage. So at mile two, I congratulated myself on being more than 1/5th of the way done. Hahhaa. True story. The race felt pretty lonely. I love running with people, and I lamented not planning better for a 9.3 mile run. I would have made my bf meet me at the end, but alas he is across the country. So this race truly was a test of my mental endurance more than physical. Well, physically too. I haven’t run more than 6 miles outdoors since the Staten Island half marathon in OCTOBER. Gulp. I was definitely nervous….with a strained hamstring and a lack of distance running racked up…. I feared that I would be unable to complete the run.

But then mile after mile began to go by, and I realized I could do it. I wasn’t running fast, I was running comfortably and I knew I could easily maintain the pace during the entire race. My hamstring was inhibiting me, literally, from running fast. It was so tight I definitely couldn’t get going at much more of a clip.

When I finished in a respectable 1:23:25 (after a dramatic sprint across the finish as if I was PR-ing…) I was frustrated I hadn’t been able to run faster, but proud I had made it through.

NYC Marathon 2011 Quest Update:

3 qualifying races down….6 + 1 volunteer race to go.

(PLEASE NOTE: When I lament about my times, I recognize there are MANY out there who run significantly slower AND faster than I! Everything is relative. When I began my running journey, I could barely mantain a 10 min/mile pace for a half marathon. My last half was run at 8:41 min miles on a very hilly and difficult course. My goal is to one day see a 1:45 half marathon. Welcome to the jungle my journey….)

WHAT IS YOUR RACE STRATEGY?????

8 responses to “3/28 – Counter-Eat: Colon Cancer 15K (NYRR Q#3)

  1. Sounds like a great race despite not feeling your best!

  2. I just checked out your race page – you are seriously plowing through the NYRR calendar. Wow! Sorry your race wasn’t too terribly fun. I agree that having people at any race makes a big difference – you’ve got motivation to finish strong.

  3. Dori-
    Thanks!!

    Sarah-
    Ahhh yes. The 9+1 addiction…. 🙂

  4. You will get a 1:45 1/2 marathon one day soon! I always love a good dramatic sprint to the finish line.

  5. I am so glad you commented on my blog, I had lost track of yours and I used to love it!!! I guess that’s why I should stop being afraid of GoogleReader 😀

  6. Congrats on a great race! Wish we had planned to meet beforehand so you wouldn’t feel so alone. But you managed just fine. 🙂 Maybe we can meet up for the Scotland run if you decide to run it.

  7. My running strategy is to count DOWN not UP. So during the marathon, mile 1, was, in my head, mile 25. I knew when I got to the last few miles, hearing “23, 24, 25” would totally freak me out but hearing “3, 2, 1” I could just think of it as a run around my neighborhood. Kinda silly but it totally worked!!

  8. Most cases of colon cancer begin as small, noncancerous (benign) clumps of cells called adenomatous polyps. Over time some of these polyps become colon cancers.`

    Check out all of the most up to date article on our new blog site
    <.http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/st-johns-wort-depression-treatment/

Leave a Reply

