Some friend…!?!??!?!!??!

So I was pondering this the other day after an acquaintance complained to me “Ugh, I am disgusting! I need to go to the gym, I mean I’m just FAT!”. Well, that’s a pretty aggressive statement. The person in question wasn’t fat, just lamenting their current lack of gym-age. Then it hit me. What is someone else said that same phrase to me? It’s like the age-old “Well I’m ____ so I can make jokes about that” (insert ethnicity, race, culture…anything…here). You can say whatever you want about yourself but if someone else said it, it would be absolutely horrific and shocking, wouldn’t it?

Imagine the scenario. You’re walking with a friend through the streets of NYC and all of a sudden she turns to you and goes “Oh my god you ARE SO FAT! You NEED to go to the gym!!!” Uhhhhh. I know!?!?!?!?! You couldn’t imagine the scenario. Because that person would no longer be your friend. I mean, you might even punch them in the face (orrr is that just me….)

(source)

Yeah, that wouldn’t fly. So here is my question to you (all five readers):

WHY IS IT OK TO SAY THIS TO YOURSELF!?!??!?!?
The simple and obvious answer is, it’s not. Duh. I could go on and on about this. But maybe, just maybe, this holiday season, this January resolution time, you can think about the golden rule or maybe Thumper’s mom: If you don’t have anything nice to say, doesn’t say anything at all. If you don’t have something positive to say about yourself, keep it shut. Until you find something.

Here is a list of suggestions of why you are awesome, in case you are struggling to come up with your own:

1. I used to not be able to _________ (run, walk,  get myself to the gym 2 days a week) and now I can.

2. People consider me a great ______ (friend, spouse, co-worker etc)

3. This year one of my biggest accomplishments was _____ ( work, personal, gaining a new awesome hobby, saving up for a great trip)

4. I’ve been really working hard on _____ (ANYTHING!) and some strides I’ve made in this area are ______

5. I am awesome. Obviously.

 

So be nice to yourself. Or you might need to punch yourself in the face. If you catch my drift ;)

 

2 responses to “Some friend…!?!??!?!!??!

  1. This is a great post — and it’s so true! Next time someone says something awful about him/herself, I’ll punch that person in the face! Hehe. But seriously, loved the post. Thanks for sharing.

  2. ahhh I think we all forget this way too often. It’s so easy to get down on yourself about everything – great reminder :) We are awesome!

Leave a Reply

