These are a few of my favorite things…

Too late for Hanukkah, but that really crept up on me this year… It’s hard to find great gifts for people during the holidays (yeah yeah, everyone says it but it’s true) especially when your office wants to do a stupid secret santa or whatever those gift exchanges are. You don’t want to be the dork who gave the gift no one wants if it’s one of those ‘swaps’. You now what I’m talking about.

1. Candle: Everyone likes their apartment/house (I know feel people who own a house, so this will be a recurring theme, my city-centric writing…) to smell good. This candle by anthropologie is the only one I buy for my apartment and light almost daily. It’s soothing, refreshing and simply delicious. It’s also relatively large and well priced ($28)

2. Gym/life organizer: There’s nothing better than something adorable which doubles as something functional. I saw this little gem-y gem at Lululemon this weekend while buying a pair of silverescent challenge crops I didn’t need couldn’t live without. I digresss. This little organizer is cute and functional, the perfect gift for the gym crazy lover in your life.

3.  A bowl. Not for cooking. Come on, I live in NYC. Everyone orders in. My kitchen is the size of my desk at work. Slight exaggeration. But like my darling fiance says “it just SOUNDS better when you exaggerate a LITTLE.” Is THAT how an apartment can miraculously lose or gain500 square feet during his stories?? Right, gifts. Saw these adorable bowls on wedding websites I obsess over vist frequently. They’re wonderful as ring holders (wedding or otherwise) or jewelry in general for the bedside table. I have a similar thing (a square, not a round bowl so CLEARLY I need one of these…) and use it all the time. Anything personalized or monogrammed I adore. It must be the WASP side of me.

4.  ‘Save yourself‘: I love this. I love little things that have multiple uses. I am weird. During all of the insanity and unpleasantness of holiday travel, wouldn’t it be nice to know you had a mini-everything-you-need should you be stranded due to the inevitable awful snowstorm that will hit when you’re trying to get  to your fabulous destination? Amen. Besides, this thing is so cute I want to pinch it’s little cheeks corners.

5. Eat cheaper: I’ve used the bad-johnnies myself, so I can attest to their awesome-ness. Restaurant.com certificates. For just $2 (when they have their 80% off sales, sign up for the emails and WAIT until they send you the code for 80% off, otherwise it’s not as much of a deal…kapiche?) you can score $25 gift certificates to participating restaurants in your area/a friends area. TONS of great restaurants in NYC are on their list, and although restrictions do apply (I mean who DOESN’T read fine print…) they’re pretty legit.

‘Tis the season, right?

Disclaimer: OBVIOUSLYYYYY this blog is not popular enough for me to be compensated by ANYONE for mentioning the afore-tauted products. They’re just things I like. Duh. :)

xoxo

2 responses to “These are a few of my favorite things…

  1. love the list. i have always been afraid restaurant.com was too good to be true. i’ll have to check it out.

  2. I swear it’s amazing!! Blackboard Eats is obviously better since you never have to buy anything, but I have used MANY restaurant.com GC’s. I highly recommend Cafe Asean, De Santos and a couple others on that list!
    xoxo
    s

Leave a Reply

